Florida Car Insurance Requirements

In Florida, all drivers with registered vehicles are required to show proof of financial responsibility by purchasing auto insurance.  You must maintain insurance coverage throughout the whole vehicle registration period even if you are not currently using the vehicle. 

 

Florida Liability Insurance Requirements

Florida car insurance is separated in to two laws: No-fault law and financial responsibility law.  Here are the minimum coverage amounts required by both laws:

  • No-Fault Law:
    • $10,000 for property damage liability per accident
    • $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) per person per accident
  • Financial Responsibility Law:
    • $10,000 in bodily injury liability for one person in an accident
    • $20,000 in bodily injury for 2 or more people in an accident
    • $10,000 in property damage liability for an accident

It is important to remember that these are just the bare minimum coverage amounts required by the state.  Depending on your situation you may need to purchase additional Florida auto insurance coverage.

 

Proof of Auto Insurance in Florida

When you purchase car insurance in Florida your insurance company will send your insurance information to the FDHSMV.  This information will be kept in a computer system.  Your auto insurance provider will also notify the FDHSMV if your policy is cancelled.  If this occurs, you will receive a letter asking for your updated insurance information.  You may update your insurance information yourself online, over the phone, or in person.  It is also a good idea to keep your insurance identification card in your vehicle with you in case you are pulled over or get in to an accident.

 

Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance in Florida

If you are caught driving without insurance you could lose you’re driving privileges as well as have your vehicle’s registration and tags suspended for up to 3 years or until you show proof of Florida auto insurance.  In order to reinstate your driver’s license you will be required to pay a reinstatement fee ranging from $150 to $500 depending on if this is your first offense or greater.

Enter Your Zip Code: